Skip to content

All change with CNPA Convener election

26th June 2015

Duncan Bryden has chaired his final Board meeting as the Convener of the Cairngorms National Park Authority.

Duncan was elected to Convener in 2012 but has been a Board member since the Park Authority’s inception in 2003.  The election for Duncan’s replacement took place at the CNPA Board meeting this morning 27 June 2015 and Peter Argyle was voted in by Board members. Peter is an experienced member of the Board having served since 2003, he is also the current Vice Convener of the Planning Committee.

Duncan said, “I will be sad to leave one of the best jobs in Scotland. Helping to set up a new National Park in the Cairngorms has been a privilege and a pleasure; our young Park is a wonderful asset for Scotland. Now I am very pleased to welcome my successor Peter Argyle as the new CNPA Convener. Peter will take the helm in September and brings a great level of experience to the role. I wish him and the CNPA well. ”

On taking up this new role, Peter said: “To have been elected Convener of the CNPA by my Board colleagues is a tremendous honour, knowing that I am following in the footsteps of Andrew Thin, David Green and Duncan Bryden, all of whom have done so much to shape the Park Authority over the years.

“We are fortunate to have Board members and staff of the highest calibre.  I am confident that by working closely with all our partners we can deliver the aims of National Park in a coherent and balanced way, so that the Cairngorms National Park is not only a great place to live, work and visit but also a place where everyone can be inspired.

“There is a great deal of work to be done and I look forward to playing my part in that and to meeting people from the many communities across the Park. By working together with our partners and our communities we will continue to take strides towards ensuring that our National Park is recognised as one of the best in the world.”

Peter will take up position as Convener of the CNPA from September for a three-year term.