Skip to content

New Board Members at CNPA

9th May 2006

Deputy Environment Minister, Rhona Brankin, today (Monday 3 April) announced the appointment of two new members to the Board of the Cairngorms National Park Authority (CNPA).

The new members are:

Dr Nonie Coulthard, from Glen Isla is a consultant in ecology and biodiversity conservation and has experience working in conservation management. She has just concluded her second term as a member of both SNH’s East  Areas Board and Scientific Advisory Committee.

Ross Watson, from Nethybridge is a nature reserve warden and ghillie and has experience of nature conservation both within the Cairngorms National Park and in National Parks in Tanzania and South Africa. He is also a member of the Scottish
Youth Parliament, and chairs the Transport, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee.

Mr Watson and Dr Coulthard replace outgoing members, Joyce Simpson and Sally Dowden, who stepped down from the board in March.

CNPA Convener, Andrew Thin said: “I would like to take this opportunity to thank Joyce and Sally for all their hard work and commitment over the past three years Both of them have helped steer the Park Authority through its earliest days and their contribution has been invaluable. I would also like to welcome the appointment of Nonie and Ross to the board and look
forward to working with them in the years to come.”

Lucy Grant, Alastair MacLennan and Eric Baird have been reappointed for a second term.