Skip to content

New Board Members for CNPA

14th September 2007

Minister for Environment, Michael Russell has announced the appointment of five new members and five re-appointed members to Cairngorms National Park Authority. These appointments are made on the nomination of local authorities.

The new members are:

Councillor Andrew (Drew) Hendry (Highland Council) was elected as a Highland Councillor in May 2007. He has an established background in senior retail and manufacturing management. He is chair of the council’s Planning, Environment and Development Committee and sits on the Education, Culture and Sport Committee.

Councillor Jacqueline (Jaci) Douglas (Highland Council) was elected to Highland Council in May 2007 as an Independent councillor. Jaci returned to Scotland in 2003, having lived and worked abroad for a number of years. She was a founding member and organiser of the Cairngorms Farmers Market and worked for Grantown Initiative, an organisation which seeks to support local community groups. Jaci sits on the council’s Education, Culture and Sport Committee and Gaelic Committee.

Councillor David Fallows (Highland Council), a former United Kingdom representative to United Nations and EC Committees on Electronic Data Interchange Standards, he has lived in Newtonmore for over 18 years and with his wife started the Newtonmore Craft Centre and Gallery. Before becoming a councillor, he was chairman of the Newtonmore Vicinity Community Council and has been a board member of Cairngorms Chamber of Commerce and Strathspey Community Transport Company. He sits on the council’s Housing and Social Work Committee.

Councillor Fiona Murdoch (Moray Council) was brought up on a farm outside Dufftown in Moray. Previously a partner in the family farm business, Fiona also worked as a journalist for twenty years. In more recent years, Fiona has run several businesses, including a holiday cottage business, a small printing firm, a specialist whisky shop and was one of the original instigators of Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival. Fiona was elected as independent councillor for the Speyside-Glenlivet ward in May 2007.

Councillor Ian Mackintosh (Angus Council) is a farmer and member for Kirriemuir and Dean ward. At present, Ian is a member of NFUS Environment and Land Use Committee and has been president of Angus NFU twice. He is a land manager member of Angus Local Access Forum. Ian has over 12 years experience in local government; is Depute Leader of the Council, Convener of the council’s Civic Licensing Committee and Convener of the Tayside Police Joint Board.

Re-appointed members are:

Councillor Alexander (Sandy) Park (Highland Council) is Convener of the council and member of Nairn ward. Between 2001 and 2007, he was Chairman of the council’s Planning, Development, Europe and Tourism Committee and served on the Cairngorms National Park Board. He was Provost of Nairn through his position as Chairman of the council’s Nairnshire Area Committee for 8 years and for 38 years he has been a Director of WW Brown (Butchers) in Nairn and a former Chairman of the Association of Nairn Businesses. He has been involved in outdoor pursuits for over 40 years.

Councillor Francis D S (Stuart) Black (Highland Council) has been a farmer for over 40 years and lives in Nethy Bridge. Stuart was previously president of the Badenoch and Strathspey branch of the National Farmers Union and served as agricultural representative on the former Cairngorms Partnership Board. He was a founder member and first Chairman of the Cairngorms Farming and Wildlife Group. He is member for Badenoch and Strathspey ward and sits on the council’s Resources Committee and Transport, Environment and Community Services Committee.

Councillor Marcus Humphrey (Aberdeenshire Council) was a member of the original Cairngorms Working Party and has a very thorough knowledge of the National Park having lived and represented many interests at local and national level. He has worked in local government for over 40 years. Since 2005 he has been Chairman of North East Scotland Preservation Trust (Built Heritage).

Councillor Bruce Luffman (Aberdeenshire Council) runs a 5 star B&B with his wife which is located in the National Park. He is the Vice-Chairman of the Cairngorms Chamber of Commerce and was involved in setting up of the first Destination Management Organisation in the UK based in Aviemore and Spey Valley. He is also Chairman of the Visitor Information and Sustainability in Tourism Forum.

Councillor Richard Stroud (Aberdeenshire Council) was responsible for Adult Education in Upper and Lower Deeside for 17 years. He is an active mountaineer and skier with considerable knowledge of the mountains in the National Park. He is currently the Chair of Aberdeenshire Council’s Education, Learning and Leisure Committee and is a member of the North East Preservation Trust. He has 10 years experience of planning as member of the council’s Marr Area Committee.

These appointments will be for four years and will run from September 1, 2007 to August 31, 2011. These posts are part-time and attract a remuneration of £ 190.35 for a time commitment of 2-3 days per month.